CARMEN GUERRERO NAKPIL ON THE DEATH OF NINOY AQUINO


6 thoughts on “CARMEN GUERRERO NAKPIL ON THE DEATH OF NINOY AQUINO

  1. Exceptional gifted writer. I felt it all all over again. One thing I found surprising was the anecdote of Marcos’ reaction to the massive outpouring at Ninoy’s funeral. If he really felt that, and felt only that, then he was incredibly out of touch with reality. but I suspect his words did not tell all that he felt. Or Imelda did not tell the whole story. He was probably aware of the massive resentment which was showing up in the communist rebellion, demonstrations, and the general level of negative comments among ordinary people about his regime etc. If his intelligence service was any good it would have told him that but then maybe it was only good as assassinating. So it possible that even he underestimated the degree to which people resented him. I knew someone who would throw his slippers at the TV screen whenever Marcos appeared pompously and sonorously mouthing his usual make believe claims.

    Very few Filipinos write as well as Carmen Nakpil. She is missed.

  2. Hello, I noticed you have a large collection of your writings. I can compile some of them and create a paperback book. I publish for free based on Print-On-Demand, with amazon as my printer and platform. job_elizes@yahoo.com Hope you are interested. Thanks, Tatay Jobo Elizes In Books at amazon site

  3. Thank you for this rivetting personal account by The CGN! Mabuhay po kayo! That was really ‘The Day the World Stood Still” moment for many of us. To think that the day before, Vince Concio and I were at ROTC, excitedly anticipating Ninoy’s return. The tears eventually turned not into sorrow but resolve and victory. It happened then. It may happen again.

Leave a comment